About the Department

                        The chemistry department of the college was started in 1993 where only pass course was offered to the students. In 1995 the Honours section was also started. The department has five faculty members and the student strength is always rising year by year. Our studen8 have fared well in “the university exams” and some have also figured in the merit list. Some of our previous students are now employed as teachers, lawyers, and also serving in, various capacities as well as in the armed forces.Activities: The Honours students of the department distributed self-made paper packets to the nearby shops free of cost to reduce the use of plastics. The department along with the department of Botany organized a UGC sponsored National Seminar on “Climatic Aberrations: Contemporary dilemma of the anthropogenic climate in socio and ecological issues” on the 23rd and 24th July 2015.

Staff Members

Shri. Arwat Rumnong

Head of Department


Smt. Meba Swer


Dr. Ridaphun Nongrum


Scroll to Top